The Official Website of Charles Brokaw
 
 

AN ANCIENT MANUSCRIPT HAS REMAINED CONCEALED FOR CENTURIES -- WITHIN ITS PAGES LIES THE KEY TO THE MOST UNHOLY SECRET KNOWN TO MANKIND.

 

A sacred brotherhood has sworn, generation after generation, to protect this terrifying truth from those who would use it to unleash doomsday upon mankind.

 

When the unthinkable happens, and the holy scroll is uncovered, the race is on to reveal the true meaning of the cryptic language. Only one man, Dr. Thomas Lourds, the world's foremost scholar of ancient languages, who we first met in the bestselling novel The Atlantis Code, can safely decipher this most deadly scripture.

 

Lourds soon becomes the bait in the most lethal manhunt -- knowing he must confront the true face of evil if the world is to be saved...

The Lucifer Code

The Atlantis Code

World-famous linguist and archaeologist Thomas Lourds is shooting a documentary that dramatizes his flamboyant life and scientific achievements. When satellites spot impossibly ancient ruins along the Spanish coast, he knows exactly what it means: the Lost Continent of Atlantis has been found.


The technologically advanced, eerily enigmatic civilization, now buried by rock and sea, offers fame, fortune, and even a Nobel Prize. The race is on, and Lourds’s challengers will do anything to get there first.


One such challenger is a brutal branch of a violent Catholic cult. At its highest levels, the Elders know that the secrets of the Lost Continent threaten to destroy the Church’s purpose, foundation, and message for all time to come.

The Lucifer Code.

Brokaw follows up his debut, The Atlantis Code (2009),

with an equally and fast-moving adventure. Thomas

Lourds, the hotshot linguist, arrives in Istanbul, and

before he’s even out of the airport-heck, before he’s

collected his luggage-he’s met by attractive an female fan.

It turns out she has plans for him (and not the kind of

plans he’d been expecting), and in no time Lourds is kidnapped by some mysterious people who have a little translating they want him to do. If he can survive long enough, that is. The novel has one crucial difference from many in the increasingly overcrowded subgenre of thrillers that concern ancient mysteries: this one really moves. No clunky expository sections; no long-winded dialogue that exists only to shove information at the reader. Brokaw manages to pass along the key information (and there is plenty of it) is an efficient, lively manner. His characters, especially Lourds (who has an endearing narcissistic streak), are lively too; the author paints them with broad brush strokes, filling in the small details as the story progresses. A very entertaining thriller.  - David Pitt

BOOKLIST REVIEW

An old friend summons dashing linguistics professor Thomas Lourds to Jerusalem to examine an ancient text. But Iran’s Supreme Leader, Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, also wants the same document. Khamenei and many others believe that the book contains a secret that will allow its owner to rule all of Islam and wage a Global Jihad the likes of which has never been seen before.

Arriving in Jerusalem, Lourds discovers that his friend has been murdered and his apartment ransacked. With the help of Miriam Abata, a beautiful Iranian-American Jewish graduate student, he races against the clock to seek the dangerous document: Lourds seeks to save civilization while his enemies hope to destroy it.

Continuing the New York Times bestselling series that includes The Atlantis Code and The Lucifer Code, The Temple Mount Code will appeal to readers interested in history and treasure hunting in the Holy Land and is perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Brad Meltzer, James Rollins, and Steve Berry.

The Temple Mount Code is a thriller. Charles Brokaw, who wrote The Temple Mount Code, is a New York Times bestselling author. This is the third in Brokaw’s “Code” series. Before this, he wrote The Atlantis Code and The Lucifer Code. But this is the first book I’ve read by him.


The story starts off with Professor Thomas Lourds heading to a dig in China. He’s not there very long, just long enough to make a discovery, before he heads off to Jerusalem at the request of a friend. And from there to the end of the book, it’s a race to stay alive and save people around him. Oh, and to find what everyone is looking for and willing to kill for … Mohammad’s Koran.


The dig in China is very interesting, but once Lourds heads out to find his friend who seems to be in trouble, the pace and action races. It reminded me of The Da Vinci Code, as far as the scholarly knowledge Lourds has, but it also reminded me of a thriller movie with the fast pace, chases, fights, and exotic settings. Since Professor Lourds has starred in Brokaw’s other books, you can guess that he will survive, but it’s all bets off on everyone else. There are also some formidable women in the book. I especially liked Miriam.


Lourds is smart like Robert Langdon, can fight like Jason Bourne, and loves like James Bond. Roll them together and you’ve got a moo-vie! (That’s my prediction, anyway.)

The Temple Mount Code
The Oracle Code

It was the most renowned and respected shrine in the Roman Empire, the object of veneration by Julius Caesar, Cleopatra, Octavian, and a host of other luminaries. It stood for centuries within a sacred precinct the size of a large town at the heart of the greatest Greek city in the world. Yet it disappeared without a trace, creating the greatest archaeological enigma of the ancient world.

What became of the tomb of Alexander the Great?

Does any part of it still survive?

Find out in the latest installment of the New York Times bestselling series by Charles Brokaw, THE ORACLE CODE. When word of the tomb’s secret location and the treasured wisdom of the Oracle of Delphi it may hold materialize in the code of an ancient scroll in Afghanistan, Harvard linguist and archeologist professor Thomas Lourds must quickly find out. That is if the evil forces that wish to obtain the treasure that the tomb holds doesn’t stop him first.

Russian President Nevsky and his secret police will stop at nothing to harness the power of what the tomb may hold—power to control the world as Alexander the Great did. When the Taliban catches wind of the discovery they’re also dangerously hot on the trail.